When you delete a file permanently, it cannot be recovered (unless you have a backup mechanism.)
Select the objects you want to empty from the Trash Can.
Select individual objects, or choose Select All from the File menu.
Choose Shred from the File menu or from the object's pop-up menu (displayed by pressing Shift+F10 or mouse button 3).
Click OK in the confirmation dialog box.