|Skip Navigation Links|
|Exit Print View|
|System Administration Guide: Printing Oracle Solaris 11 Express 11/10|
Table 4-1 Managing Printer Groups and Print Jobs by Using Print Manager for LP
Print Manager has three types of printer groups:
These groups cannot be created or deleted. However you can edit the contents of these groups. By default, there are two system groups, All Printers and Favorites.
This group contains all the printer queues that are currently known to the system. All other groups are views of the All Printers group.
To delete a printer queue permanently, you must delete it from the All Printers group. Deleting a printer queue from another group only removes the queue from that group. The printer queue remains on the system until it is deleted from the All Printers group.
You can use the Favorites group to store the printer queues that you use most often.
Note - When you print a document from an application, only the printer queues in your Favorites group are shown in the application's Print dialog. If your Favorites group is empty, the printer queues in the All Printers group are shown in the application's Print dialog instead.
These groups are named groups to which you can copy or drag any printer that is known to the system. For example, you might have a Home or an Office printer group.
These groups contain the results of searches that you perform. The contents of search groups are updated dynamically. For example, when a new local printer is connected, or a new network printer is discovered, its printer queue is automatically added to all of the search groups that have matching search criteria.
A new group with the default name, Untitled N, is created in the Group pane of the Print Manager window.
A new search group with the default name, Untitled N, is created in the Group pane.
The New Search Group dialog opens.
If additional search terms are provided, the Remove (-) button is visible. To delete an entire search term (row), click the Remove (-) button.
A new search group with the default name you entered is created in the Group pane.
The Search Group Properties dialog is displayed, allowing you to view or change the properties of the search group.
If you provided additional search terms that you want to delete, the Remove (-) button is visible. To delete a search term (entire row), click the Remove (-) button.
You can delete printer groups and search groups that you have created.
Note - You cannot delete the All Printers or the Favorites groups.
You can manage print jobs in the Job pane of the Print Manager window.
Note - The Job pane is shown only if a single printer queue is selected in the Queue pane. If multiple queues are selected, the Job pane is automatically hidden. The pane reappears when you select a single printer queue again.
The job list for any printer queue can be opened in a separate Job List window. To open a Job List window for a particular printer queue, double-click the printer queue icon.
The Job pane and Job List windows are automatically updated every few seconds. You can also manually update the Job pane and the Job List window by selecting Refresh from the View menu or by clicking the Refresh button on the toolbar.
The Job List window allows you to view a list of print jobs that are currently queued for printing. You can open the Job List window by double-clicking a queue in the Queue Pane or by clicking the panel notification icon when one or more print jobs are processing normally. You can also open the window from the Print Manager window by choosing View -> Job List Only.
By default, when the Print Manager window opens, the Job pane for the default printer is shown. To view print jobs for another printer queue, select the printer queue whose jobs you want to view. The Job pane for the printer queue you selected is displayed. To view the job list only, click the Job List Only icon on the toolbar.
The Job pane for the selected printer queue is displayed.
Note - You can only delete your own print jobs or print jobs from printer queues that you own.