Skip Headers
Oracle® Fusion Middleware Administrator's Guide for Oracle IRM Server
11g Release 1 (11.1.1)

Part Number E12321-03
Go to Documentation Home
Go to Book List
Book List
Go to Table of Contents
Go to Index
Go to Master Index
Master Index
Go to Feedback page
Contact Us

Go to previous page
Go to current chapter
Go to next page
View PDF

2.1 About Domains and Administrators

A domain is the top-level administrative component of Oracle IRM. It contains all other Oracle IRM components.

Within a domain there are four administrator types:

The four administrator types can each see and use a different combination of pages and tabs on the Oracle IRM Server administration console. See Section A.2, "Visibility of Pages and Tabs to Administrator Types".

A user can have multiple administrative roles. For example, domain administrators should normally also be made inspectors. However, because domain administrators have all the privileges of a domain manager, domain managers are prevented from also being domain administrators.

The administrative roles are not hierarchical. For example, domain administrators cannot perform context manager functions, unless a particular user is both a domain administrator and a context manager.


Users who are domain administrators should also be set up as inspectors. This will let them see all contexts, and therefore be able to assess the impact of changes they make to context templates. For the same reason, contexts should normally be made visible to inspectors.

Although Oracle IRM Server supports groups (both users and groups can be given rights), groups cannot be given administrative roles.


There is no correspondence between Oracle IRM domains and WebLogic server domains.