Impact dialog

Use this dialog to assess the impact of refreshing or deleting an object (for example, business area, folder, item, item class, join, condition, hierarchy).

Based on the information displayed, you can determine if it is safe to perform the current action against the object.

For more information, see:

"Confirm Business Area Delete dialog"

"Confirm Delete dialog"

"Confirm Folder Delete dialog"


Use this column to view any dependent EUL objects that might be affected by the current action you are taking. The EUL objects listed here can include workbooks, scheduled workbooks, summary folders, business areas, folders, items, joins, conditions and item classes.

If you select a row, Discoverer displays text that indicates the effect the current action will have on the EUL object.

The following table lists the messages that Discoverer can display when workbooks, summary folders or other EUL objects are affected by the current action:

Scenario Message Discoverer displays in Impact dialog
Workbook definitely affected The object you are deleting is referenced by this workbook
Workbook might be affected A probable impact to this workbook has been detected. Please open and close the workbook to re synchronize it with the current EUL.
Summary You will need to remove the object from the summary before being able to delete it.
Item Class This object will be updated.
All other EUL objects This will be deleted.


Use this column to view the name of the EUL objects that might be affected by the current action you are taking.


  • Discoverer Administrator does not refresh or delete dependent workbooks when you refresh or delete an EUL object. Subsequent use of a workbook however, will be affected when you delete an EUL object that has dependent workbooks.

  • The Impact dialog displays dependent workbooks that are saved to the database. Dependencies might also exist in workbooks that are saved locally, such workbooks are not displayed in the Impact dialog.

  • Discoverer does not delete an EUL object that has dependent summary folders. You must manually remove such summary folders first. You delete summary folders at the Summaries tab in the Workarea (for more information, see "How to delete summary folders").