Print      Open PDF Version of Online Help


Previous Topic

Next Topic

About Concurrent Sessions in Oracle CRM On Demand

Your company administrator can specify whether concurrent sessions are allowed. Concurrent sessions occur when the same user credentials are used to sign in to Oracle CRM On Demand more than once, from different browsers, at the same time. Only interactive user sessions are counted. Connections to Oracle CRM On Demand through Web services or desktop clients are not considered when concurrent sessions are counted.

Your company administrator specifies whether concurrent sessions are allowed. The following table shows the behavior that users see when an attempt is made to sign in to Oracle CRM On Demand with user credentials that are already in use for at least one existing session, depending on the option your company administrator chooses.

Option

Behavior

Allow with Notification

The new session is allowed. When the user signs in to the new session, the following happens:

  • In the new session, a message appears on the Oracle CRM On Demand page to indicate that at least one other concurrent session exists. The message contains a link that the user can click to view the sign-in history for the user.
  • In each existing concurrent session, the next time the user performs an action in Oracle CRM On Demand, such as clicking a link, tab, or button, a message appears on the Oracle CRM On Demand page to indicate that a concurrent session has started. The message contains a link that the user can click to view the sign-in history for the user.

Allow without Notification

The new session is allowed. No notification is given in the new session or in any existing session to indicate that a concurrent session is in progress.

Prevent and Terminate Existing

The new session is allowed, but the existing session is terminated. When the user signs in to the new session, the following happens:

  • In the new session, a message appears on the Oracle CRM On Demand page to indicate that another session with the same credentials will be terminated. The message contains a link that the user can click to view the sign-in history for the user.
  • In the original session, the next time that the user performs an action in Oracle CRM On Demand, such as clicking a link, tab, or button, the user is returned to the sign-in page, where a message indicates that the session was terminated because another user signed in with the same credentials.


Published 5/4/2012 Copyright © 2005, 2012, Oracle. All rights reserved. Legal Notices.