Considerations When Turning Off Shared Addresses
If you turn off shared addresses after having turned it on, then the addresses created from that point onwards are unshared addresses. That is, any new address created for an account, contact, dealer, or partner is created only for that record and is not shared with other records. However, the address records that were previously shared among account, contact, dealer, or partner records continue to be shared until they are edited. For example, if you have three accounts (A, B, and C) that share an address, after turning off shared addresses, then the address continues to be shared for the three accounts. If a user edits an address, for example, Account A, then Oracle CRM On Demand creates a new, unshared address record for Account A, but Accounts B and C continue to use the shared address until these addresses are also edited.
NOTE: Before turning off shared addresses you must remove access to address records for end users at your company, remove the Manage Addresses privilege from their user roles, and reset page layouts as required. For information on the procedure to remove this access and privilege, see Updating User Access and the Manage Addresses Privilege Before Turning Off Shared Addresses.
The following considerations apply when turning off shared addresses after this feature was turned on:
For information about turning off shared addresses, see the information on the Enable Shared Addresses setting in Setting Up Your Company Profile and Global Defaults.
|Published 5/4/2012||Copyright © 2005, 2012, Oracle. All rights reserved. Legal Notices.|