If you find that you no longer need a folder, you can delete it from the Library. Deleting a folder deletes the entire contents of the folder, including all documents and subfolders. A Confirm Delete dialog box opens prompting you to confirm your deletion.
If the folder you are deleting contains documents that are linked to other documents stored in another folder, you are prompted with the choice of deleting the selection only or the selection and all related documents in other folders. Clicking the View related documents link displays a list of the related documents.
Selecting Cancel during the deletion process displays a message with a link to view the documents that have already been deleted.
Note: If a document in a deleted folder is linked to an outline, the link is broken and a Missing Document link appears in its place in the outline.
Warning! Folder deletions cannot be undone.
You can delete a folder only when all of the documents in it can also be deleted. Documents under version control must be checked in and you must be working online to delete a document from the Library. You can delete new documents that have never been checked in (are not under version control) while working online or offline.
Deleted documents that are used in any outline will continue to appear in the outline. You can either remove these broken links from the outline or restore the deleted documents as long as the administrator has not purged them.
If you delete a folder that contains a mixture of checked in and checked out documents, the checked in documents will be deleted, and the checked out documents and the folder will remain in the Library.
You can create, rename, move, copy, or delete a folder when you are working online or offline. The Developer follows specified rules to resolve folder conflicts (see Manage Folder Conflicts, Refresh the Library and Outline Editor). When working offline, you can only delete folders that are empty or contain new documents that have never been checked in.
Deleted documents that have been checked in to the Library can be restored if they have not been purged by your Administrator. New documents that have never been checked in cannot be restored. Restoring a document that was part of a deleted folder restores the document and the folder.
You can select more than one folder in the Contents pane using the standard Windows selection keys (CTRL+click and SHIFT+click). You can select all items in a folder by choosing Select All from the Edit menu.
On the Edit menu, choose Delete.
You can also press DELETE or right-click the folder and choose Delete.
If prompted that one or more documents are not restorable, click Yes to complete the action or No to abort.
The Related Documents dialog box appears when you perform an action on any document that has links to other documents. You can choose to process only the document(s) you selected or to process your selection and all of the related documents.
Click the View related documents link to display a list of the related documents if you are not sure whether you want to include related documents.
After you have made your selection, click OK.
You might also receive a message if some documents could not be processed because of other constraints. You can click OK to close the message box or click the View activity log link to view the results of the action.