A workgroup is an organizational group of users. Workgroups contain individual user accounts, user groups, and knowledge paths. Workgroups are designed to correspond with independently managed corporate sites or divisions.
In a default installation, there is only one workgroup, although you can enable multiple workgroups on the server. If you enable multiple workgroups, be aware that information such as users, user groups, and knowledge paths cannot be shared between workgroups. In addition, reports cannot be run across multiple workgroups, but only one workgroup at a time.
You access the Workgroups tab in Manager through the More tab. If multiple workgroups are not enabled, the Workgroups page displays the properties for the default workgroup. If multiple workgroups are enabled, the Workgroups page displays the list of available workgroups. The Workgroups tab automatically closes when you click on the Users, User groups, Knowledge Paths, or Titles tab, or access the More menu to open another tab.
Note: For information about enabling multiple workgroups on the server, see Enable Multiple Workgroups later in this section.
If you enable multiple workgroups on the server and create more than one workgroup, a workgroup option appears on many pages, such as users, user groups, knowledge paths, titles, and path categories. The option limits the list to the items that belong to a particular workgroup. In addition, any users with Manager rights can only see the information for the workgroup to which they belong.
To display the Workgroup Properties page (single workgroup) or the Workgroup Management page (multiple workgroups):
Table of Contents