Use this page to configure the following default settings for the Library:
Automatically save changes every: Allows you to set the time interval that the Developer uses to automatically back up open documents. If the Developer unexpectedly terminates while you are editing a document, you can recover the last backed up copy of the document. See the content later in this topic for details. When you restart the Developer, the Recovered Documents dialog box lists any documents that have been recovered. You have the option to discard the recovered documents (reverting back to the last explicitly saved version) or open all recovered documents in their appropriate editors. When you open a recovered document, the word "(Recovered)" is appended to the name of the document in the editor tab as a visual indicator that the document is recovered. The "Recovered" indicator is not actually part of the document name and is removed when you save or close the document.
Do not use AutoRecover as a substitute for regularly saving your work by clicking Save.
Note: The Developer does not autosave package documents.
An action is required to resolve any recovery situation. These situations, actions and the resulting behaviors are described below:
Document was previously saved and an autorecover copy exists that the author wants to save.
Save: The autorecover copy becomes the current version and the older autosave version is discarded.
Document was never saved but the author wants to save the autosave copy.
Save: The author is prompted to provide a document name and save the document. The saved document becomes the latest version and the autosave is cleared. If the Developer unexpectedly terminates before an autosave was created, the document is lost because there is no copy to revert back to.
Author chooses to save an autosave copy by another name.
Save As: A copy of the autosave document is saved as the user supplied name and the autosave copy is discarded. Since it is a copy of the original, documents linked to the newly saved document (for example, the Section linked to the Topic), must be linked again.
Author chooses to discard an autosave document
Close: If the document is closed without being saved, it reverts back to the last explicitly saved version and the autosave is cleared.
Scan for Lost Documents: This option scans for problems in the local copy of the Library and tries to recover any documents that are not part of the Library. You should not have to run this scan unless you are experiencing problems with documents in the Library. Contact technical support for more information on recovering lost documents.
Multi-user Option: Available Disk Space
Multi-user Option: Network Connection
Table of Contents