Skip to Main Content
Return to Navigation

Working with the My Personalizations Interface

This section discusses how to:

Using the Personalizations Page

Select select My Personalizations to access the Personalizations page.

Image: Personalizations page

This example illustrates the fields and controls on the Personalizations page.

Personalizations page
Description

The description column contains a brief description for identifying a particular category of personalization options.

Personalize Options

Click this button to view and modify the options within a category.

Restore Defaults

Click this button to restore the default values for all options in each personalization category. Defaults refer to the initial values that your system administrator has set for each available option—before you modified the option. So, you only use this feature if you have modified one or more personalization option and you want to revert to the initial settings.

Setting Personalize Options

Access the My Personalizations - Personalize Options page (From the homepage, click My Personalizations, then click the Personalize Options button in the General Options row).

Image: My Personalizations - Personalize Options page

This example illustrates the fields and controls on the My Personalizations - Personalize Options page.

My Personalizations - Personalize Options page
Option Category

Shows the description of the category of personalizations. This helps you to make sure that you have the correct category open.

Personalization Option

This column lists all of the personalization options available for you to modify. The text that appears in the list is a brief description of the option. For more information on the option, click the Explain link.

Default Value

Refers to the initial settings that your administrator has specified for the option. If you do not modify the default value, the option assumes the value provided by the system administrator.

Override Value

Enter any custom value you want to assign to the personalization option. To override a default setting means to use the new value in place of the default setting.

Explain

Click this link to view more information on what the personalization option provides. See the following section for more information on the Explanation page.

Restore Category Defaults

Returns all modified options to the default values. This button applies only to the current category, as in the category you have open.

OK/Cancel

After you have made any modifications, click OK so that the system records your changes. If you do not want your changes recorded click Cancel. If you have not made any changes and just viewed the options, you can use either button to return to the Personalizations page.

Using the Personalization Explanation Page

Access the Personalization Explanation page (click the Explain link on the Option Category page).

Image: Personalization Explanation page

This example illustrates the fields and controls on the Personalization Explanation page.

Personalization Explanation page
Personalization Name

The name of the individual personalization appears at the top of this page so that you can make sure you are viewing or modifying the appropriate option.

Default Value

Shows the value that your system administrator has set as the default value for an option. The personalization assumes the default value unless you override it.

Override Value

Overrides the default value. For example, if the default value for an option is No, you can override the default value to be Yes.

Restore Option to Default

Enables you to change any option value that you've modified to assume the original default value specified by your system administrator.

Explanation

Contains the description of what the personalization option provides when activated. For longer descriptions, use the scroll bar to view. This box is read-only.

Image

In many cases, especially with the Navigation options, an image appears to provide further clarification as to a specific control or item that the option affects.

For example, on the explanation page for the Tab Over Toolbar option, an image of the toolbar appears in the image section to show exactly the area on the page that the personalization affects.

OK/Cancel

Returns you to the current Option Category page. If you've made changes to the personalization option that you want to keep, click OK. If you do not want to keep the changes you have made, click Cancel. If you have made no changes, use either button.

Modifying a Personalization Option

The following procedure describes the steps you need to complete to modify a personalization option.

To modify a personalization option:

  1. Select My Personalizations from the portal menu.

  2. On the Personalizations page, click the Personalize Options button adjacent to the category of personalization options you want to modify.

  3. In the Personalization Option list, locate the option you want to modify.

  4. In the corresponding Override Value edit box specify the appropriate override value.

    Depending on the option, you will see one of the following controls.

    • A drop-down list box.

      Select the appropriate option from the drop-down list.

    • An edit box.

      Manually enter an override value.

  5. Click OK.

    This saves the change to the system.

  6. Sign out and then sign in again to view your changes.