You can clear data from the screen at almost any time. The data you clear is simply erased from the screen and not deleted from your database. Note however, that if the data is new and has never been saved to the database, it will be lost permanently when you clear it from the screen.
To clear selected data from a field:
- Choose Clear Field from the Edit menu.
Note that the data you clear from the field is not available for pasting into another field. Choose Cut from the Edit menu if you want to paste the data elsewhere.
The Clear Field function is not available for fields that cannot be updated.
To clear a record of data:
- Choose Clear Record from the Edit menu.
This action erases the values in all the fields of your current record and returns your cursor to the first field of the prior record.
Suggestion: If you are in a window that you do not want to be in or you accidentally perform an unwanted action, you can use Clear Record from the Edit menu to clear the current record and begin again.
To clear data from the current block:
- Choose Clear Block from the Edit menu.
When completed, this action returns your cursor to the first field in the current block. Note that if the current block is a multi-record block, this action erases all records displayed in the block. If any changes are pending you will be asked for confirmation before the records are erased.
Attention: If you enter data in only some of the fields in a block or window, you must first choose Clear Record from the Edit menu to clear the partial record before choosing Clear Form.
To clear all data from a form:
- Choose Clear Form from the Edit menu.
After this action erases the data from all the fields of the current form, it returns your cursor to the first field of the form.