Previous  Next          Contents  Index  Navigation  Glossary  Library

Types of Log Files

Log files contain information about a concurrent program's execution, or a concurrent manager's activities. Log files are helpful when reviewing a problem request.

Log files are generated for all Completed concurrent requests.

There are three types of log files:

If a concurrent process ends in an error, you should review the log files to help diagnose the problem. You may also want to review the log files if a program's performance is questionable. For example, if a report runs very slowly or if it prints out data that you didn't expect.

The Internal Concurrent Manager Log file also records the time that each concurrent manager is started, and when each process monitor session or pmon cycle is initiated. During each pmon cycle, the Internal Concurrent Manager verifies the correct operation of each defined concurrent manager.

System Administrator Log File Privileges

Both you and your end users can review request log files and manager log files online. Only the System Administrator can display the Internal Concurrent Manager log file.

As System Administrator, you can use the Concurrent Requests and Administer Concurrent Program windows to view request and manager log files.

Operating System Access to Log Files

Log files are stored as standard operating system files in directories defined during the installation of Oracle Applications.

For example, Oracle General Ledger files are located using a path variable called $GL_TOP/$APPLLOG, or $APPLCSF/$APPLLOG, if the APPLCSF variable is set.

The complete path name to access an Oracle Applications log file depends on the operating system you are using. However, there are a number of file name conventions that are standard across all platforms.

For example:

VMS L64225.REQ
Unix l64225.req

Operating System Access to Concurrent Manager Log Files

Concurrent manager log files are located in the log directory under FND_TOP, the variable that contains the path name to Application Object Library Files, or under $APPLTOP/$APPLLOG.

The concurrent manager log file naming convention in Unix is wn.mgr, where n is a number with up to 3 digits.

For most platforms, n is the Concurrent Process ID number assigned to the concurrent manager by the Internal Concurrent Manager, and is found in the Internal Concurrent Manager log file.

The log file name for the Internal Concurrent Manager is specified when you use the STARTMGR command from the operating system to start the concurrent managers.

See: Controlling the Internal Concurrent Manager from the Operating System

See Also

Reviewing Requests, Request Log Files, and Report Output Files

         Previous  Next          Contents  Index  Navigation  Glossary  Library