Contents for Operations Guide

Starting and Stopping Servers

Startup Sequence for a WebLogic SIP Server Domain

Administration Server Best Practices

Configuring SNMP

Overview of WebLogic SIP Server SNMP

Browsing the MIB

Configuring SNMP

SNMP Port Binding for WebLogic SIP Server

Understanding and Responding to SNMP Traps

Files for Troubleshooting

Trap Descriptions



Recovery Procedure



Recovery Procedure



Recovery Procedure

overloadControlActivated, overloadControlDeactivated


Recovery Procedure

Additional Overload FAQs



Recovery Procedure



Recovery Procedure



Recovery Procedure

Additional Shutdown FAQs



Recovery Procedure



Recovery Procedure



Recovery Procedure

Using the WebLogic Server Diagnostic Framework (WLDF)

Overview of WebLogic SIP Server and the WLDF

Data Collection and Logging

Watches and Notifications

Image Capture


Configuring Server-Scoped Monitors

Configuring Application-Scoped Monitors

Logging SIP Requests and Responses

Overview of SIP Logging

Defining Logging Servlets in sip.xml

Configuring the Logging Level and Destination

Specifying the Criteria for Logging Messages

Using XML Documents to Specify Logging Criteria

Using Servlet Parameters to Specify Logging Criteria

Specifying Content Types for Unencrypted Logging

Managing Logging Performance

Enabling Log Rotation and Viewing Log Files

trace-pattern.dtd Reference

Adding Tracing Functionality to SIP Servlet Code

Order of Startup for Listeners and Logging Servlets

Applying Patches

Upgrading Deployed SIP Applications

Overview of SIP Application Upgrades

Requirements and Restrictions for Upgrading Deployed Applications

Steps for Upgrading a Deployed SIP Application

Assign a Version Identifier

Defining the Version in the Manifest

Deploy the Updated Application Version

Undeploy the Older Application Version

Roll Back the Upgrade Process

Accessing the Application Name and Version Identifier

Using Administration Mode

Avoiding and Recovering From Server Failures

Failure Prevention and Automatic Recovery Features

Overload Protection

Redundancy and Failover for Clustered Services

Automatic Restart for Failed Server Instances

Managed Server Independence Mode

Automatic Migration of Failed Managed Servers

Geographic Redundancy for Regional Site Failures

Directory and File Backups for Failure Recovery

Enabling Automatic Configuration Backups

Storing the Domain Configuration Offline

Backing Up Server Start Scripts

Backing Up Logging Servlet Applications

Backing Up Security Data

Backing Up the WebLogic LDAP Repository

Backing Up SerializedSystemIni.dat and Security Certificates

Backing Up Additional Operating System Configuration Files

Restarting a Failed Administration Server

Restarting an Administration Server on the Same Machine

Restarting an Administration Server on Another Machine

Restarting Failed Managed Servers

Upgrading WebLogic SIP Server Software

Overview of System Upgrades

Requirements for Upgrading a Production System

Upgrading to a New Version of WebLogic SIP Server

Configure the Load Balancer

Configure the New Engine Tier Cluster

Define the Cluster-to-Load Balancer Mapping

Duplicate the SIP Servlet Configuration

Upgrade Engine Tier Servers and Target Applications to the New Cluster

Upgrade Data Tier Servers