Administration Console Online Help

    Previous Next  Open TOC in new window 
Content starts here

Enable trust between domains

Before you begin

Read Enabling Trust Between WebLogic Domains

Trust between domains is established so that principals in a Subject from one WebLogic Server domain are accepted as principals in another domain. When this feature is enabled, identity is passed between WebLogic Server domains over an RMI connection without requiring authentication in the second domain. When inter-domain trust is enabled, transactions can commit across domains. A trust relationship is established when the Domain Credential for one domain matches the Domain Credential for another domain.

By default, the Domain Credential is randomly generated and therefor, no two domains will have the same Domain Credential. If you want two WebLogic Server domains to interoperate, you need to replace the generated credential with a credential you select, and set the same credential in each of the domains.

  1. If you have not already done so, in the Change Center of the Administration Console, click Lock & Edit (see Use the Change Center).
  2. In the left pane, click the name of the domain.
  3. Select Security > General. Scroll down and click Advanced.
  4. If present, deselect Enable Generated Credential.
  5. Enter a password for the domain in the Credential text field. Choose the password carefully. BEA Systems recommends using a combination of upper and lower case letters and numbers. If you want a WebLogic Server 6.x Compatibility security domain to interoperate with a WebLogic Server 9.x domain, change the value of Credential in the WebLogic Server 9.x domain to the password of the system user in the WebLogic Server 6.x Compatibility security domain.
  6. Click Save.
  7. To activate these changes, in the Change Center of the Administration Console, click Activate Changes.
    Not all changes take effect immediately—some require a restart (see Use the Change Center).

After you finish

Perfom the same procedure in each domain for which you want to enable trust.

  Back to Top