System Administration Guide: Security Services

ASET Security Levels

ASET can be set to operate at one of three security levels: low, medium, or high. At each higher level, ASET's file-control functions increase to reduce file access and heighten system security. These functions range from monitoring system security without limiting users' file access, to increasingly tightening access permissions until the system is fully secured.

The following table outlines these three levels of security.

Security Level 



Ensures that attributes of system files are set to standard release values. ASET performs several checks, then reports potential security weaknesses. At this level, ASET takes no action, so ASET does not affect system services.


Provides adequate security control for most environments. ASET modifies some settings of system files and parameters. ASET restricts system access to reduce the risks from security attacks. ASET reports security weaknesses and any modifications that ASET has made to restrict access. At this level, ASET does not affect system services.


Renders a highly secure system. ASET adjusts many system files and parameter settings to minimum access permissions. Most system applications and commands continue to function normally. However, at this level, security considerations take precedence over other system behavior.

Note –

ASET does not change the permissions of a file to make the file less secure, unless you downgrade the security level. You could also intentionally revert the system to the settings that existed prior to running ASET.