System Administration Guide: Basic Administration

x86: Functional Components of GRUB

GRUB consists of the following functional components:

You cannot use the dd command to write stage1 and stage2 images to disk. The stage1 image must be able to receive information about the location of the stage2 image that is on the disk. Use the installgrub command, which is the supported method for installing GRUB boot blocks.

Naming Conventions That Are Used for Configuring GRUB

GRUB uses device-naming conventions that are slightly different from previous Solaris releases. Understanding the GRUB device-naming conventions can assist you in correctly specifying drive and partition information when you configure GRUB on your system.

The following table describes the GRUB device-naming conventions for this Oracle Solaris release.

Table 15–1 Conventions for GRUB Devices

Device Name 



First diskette 


Second diskette 


Network device 


First fdisk partition on first hard disk


Second fdisk partition on first hard disk


Slice a on first fdisk partition on first hard disk


Slice b on first fdisk partition on first hard disk

Note –

All GRUB device names must be enclosed in parentheses.

For more information about fdisk partitions, see Guidelines for Creating an fdisk Partition in System Administration Guide: Devices and File Systems.

Naming Conventions That Are Used by the findroot Command

Starting with the Solaris 10 10/08 release, the findroot command replaces the root command that was previously used by GRUB. The findroot command provides enhanced capabilities for discovering a targeted disk, regardless of the boot device. The findroot command also supports booting from a ZFS root file system.

The following is a description of the device naming convention that is used by the findroot command for various GRUB implementations: