1.1 Supported Kernels

Oracle Linux 6 Update 4 ships with two sets of kernel packages:

  • Unbreakable Enterprise Kernel Release 2 (kernel-uek-2.6.39-400.17.1.el6uek)

  • Red Hat Compatible Kernel (kernel-2.6.32-358.el6)

By default, both the Unbreakable Enterprise Kernel and the Red Hat Compatible Kernel for the specific architecture (i386 or x86_64) are installed and the system boots the Unbreakable Enterprise Kernel.

To make your system use the Red Hat Compatible Kernel by default:

  1. Edit /etc/grub.conf and change the value of the default parameter to indicate the Red Hat Compatible Kernel. (Each entry for a bootable kernel in the file starts with a title definition. The entries are effectively numbered from 0 upwards, where 0 corresponds to the first entry in the file, 1 to the second entry, and so on. To view the GRUB manual, use the info grub command.)

  2. Edit /etc/sysconfig/kernel and change the setting for the default kernel package type from DEFAULTKERNEL=kernel-uek to DEFAULTKERNEL=kernel.