2 Common Tasks for User Defined Objects

This chapter contains the following topics:

2.1 Publishing UDOs

You can request to publish or share a UDO. Your administrator grants you permission to publish UDOs. If you do not see the Request to Publish icon in the UDO manager panel for a specific UDO, then you do not have permissions to publish, share or reserve that UDO type.

If you do not wish to publish your changes, you can save the UDO as personal.

To publish UDO changes, access the JD Edwards EnterpriseOne web client:

  1. Create and save your UDO.

    When you save your content, you have your own personal copy of the UDO in the Personal category in the Name drop-down list and only you can view it. Also, the Request to Publish icon is enabled.

    Note:

    The Request to Publish icon is not enabled if you do not have the required permissions.
  2. Click the Request to Publish icon.

    When you click Request to Publish, the system sends a confirmation message to verify that you do want to publish the UDO. The confirmation message also provides an opportunity for you to add notes for the approver.

  3. Click OK on the confirmation message to move the UDO to Pending Approval status.

    If you click Cancel on the confirmation message, you can make changes to the UDO, save it, and then request it to be published.

    Note:

    The confirmation message is displayed based on the settings in the Object Management Setup application (P98230).

    The approver can approve or reject your request by accessing User Defined Objects Administration application from User Defined Object Tools.

2.2 Modifying UDOs

Your ability to change a UDO depends on whether or not your system administrator has given you permissions. If you do not see the appropriate icon, you do not have permissions to personalize the UDO.

You can modify a personal UDO. You can also modify the following UDOs by reserving them, which makes them personal.

  • UDOs that are pending approval

  • UDOs that have been rejected for publishing by your administrator

  • Shared UDOs formats

  • UDOs that are Pending Approval

When you click the Name drop-down list in the UDO manager, you see UDOs that are available to you and could be in one of these categories:

  • Personal: UDOs that are viewable by you only.

  • Pending Approval: UDOs that you created and requested that your administrator publish so that it can be shared with other authorized users. Only you can see these UDOs.

  • Rework: UDOs that are rejected by your administrator and have been returned to you for fixing. Only you can see these UDOs.

  • Reserved: UDOs that you have moved from Pending Approval so that you can change them before they are published or UDOs that are rejected by the administrator and are in the Rework category.

    You can reserve a shared UDO. When you reserve a shared UDO, there are two copies of it: the original shared UDO that only you can view and modify (the reserved copy) and the original shared UDO that is still available to other authorized users.

  • Shared: UDOs that have been published and are available to all authorized users.

Note:

You modify a Composed EnterpriseOne Page by adding, modifying, or deleting content that is on that Composed EnterpriseOne Page or by changing the Composed EnterpriseOne Page (for example, repositioning content on the Composed EnterpriseOne Page). You must be in Page Composer to modify a Composed EnterpriseOne Page.

2.2.1 Modifying a Personal UDO

A personal UDO is available to you only.

To modify a personal UDO:

  1. In the UDO manager panel (or Page Composer for Composed EnterpriseOne Pages), select the UDO in the personal category of the Name drop-down list.

  2. Make changes to the UDO as desired.

  3. Save the UDO by doing one of the following:

    1. Click Save. This will override the existing UDO.

    2. Click Save As. This option saves the changes with a new name and keeps the original intact.

  4. Close the UDO manager panel.

2.2.2 Modifying a Shared UDO

You can modify a shared UDO by reserving it. Reserving a shared UDO results in a copy of the shared UDO available to you in the reserved category on the Name drop-down list. The original shared UDO is still available to other users.

If you reserve a UDO and then decide you do not want to change it, you can click the Unreserve icon. The original UDO is available as a Shared UDO.

When you select a shared UDO in edit mode and the UDO has been reserved for editing by another user, the title bar indicates that the UDO is reserved and user ID of the individual who reserved it. You cannot modify this shared UDO.

When you select a shared UDO in edit mode and the UDO has been checked out of OMW, the title bar indicates that the token is held in a project. You cannot modify this shared UDO.

To modify a shared UDO:

  1. In the UDO manager panel, select the UDO that you want to edit in the shared category of the Name drop-down list.

  2. Click the Reserve icon.

    This action makes the shared UDO a personal UDO for you, and it appears in the Name drop-down list in the Reserved category for only you. Other users see the shared UDO.

  3. Make changes to the UDO as desired.

  4. Save the UDO by doing one of the following:

    1. Click Save. This will override the existing UDO.

    2. Click Save As. This option saves the changes with a new name and keeps the original intact.

    Important:

    You must save or save as the UDO before you click the Request to Publish icon. If you do not save the UDO, your changes will be lost and the original UDO without your changes will be placed in Pending Approval status.
  5. Click the Request to Publish icon.

  6. Close the UDO manager panel.

2.2.3 Modifying a UDO that was Rejected for Publishing

If your administrator rejects a UDO that you requested to be published, the UDO is returned to you and appears in the Name drop-down list in the Rework category. Your approver might have sent notes explaining why the UDO was rejected for publishing. You can view the notes by clicking the Notes icon.

To modify a UDO that was rejected for publishing:

  1. In the UDO manager, select the UDO from the Rework category of the Name drop-down list.

  2. Click the Reserve icon. The UDO is changed to personal so that you can modify it.

  3. Make changes to the UDO as required.

  4. Save the UDO by doing one of the following:

    1. Click Save. This will override the existing UDO.

    2. Click Save As. This option saves the changes with a new name and keeps the original intact.

    Important:

    You must save or save as the UDOs before you click the Request to Publish icon. If you do not save the UDOs, your changes will be lost and the original without your changes will be placed in Pending Approval status.
  5. Click the Request to Publish icon.

  6. Close the UDO manager panel.

2.2.4 Modifying a UDO that is Pending Approval

You can modify a UDO that is pending approval by reserving it and making the changes and resubmitting it for approval. When you click the Reserve icon, the UDO reverts to a personal UDO. If you decide you do not want to make changes, you can click the Unreserve icon, and the UDO returns to pending approval.

To modify a UDO that is pending approval:

  1. In the UDO manager (or Page Composer for Composed EnterpriseOne Pages), select the UDO from the Pending Approval category in the Name drop-down list.

  2. Click the Reserve icon. The UDO is changed to the personal category so that you can modify it.

  3. Make changes to the UDO as required.

  4. Save the UDO by doing one of the following:

    1. Click Save. This will override the existing UDO.

    2. Click Save As. This option saves the changes with a new name and keeps the original intact.

    Important:

    You must save or save as the UDOs before you click the Request to Publish icon. If you do not save the UDOs, your changes will be lost and the original without your changes will be placed in Pending Approval status.
  5. Click the Request to Publish icon.

  6. Close the UDO manager panel.

2.3 Deleting Personal UDOs

You can delete personal UDOs, such as grid formats, queries, composed EnterpriseOne Pages, and Personal Forms that are in the Personal category. When you delete a personal UDO, the UDO is removed.

Note:

When you delete a personal Composed EnterpriseOne Page, the content within that Composed EnterpriseOne Page is also deleted.

To delete a personal UDO:

  1. Open the appropriate UDO Manager panel (for example, Grid Format Manager or Page Composer).

  2. Select the UDO that you want to delete from the Name drop-down list and click the Delete icon.

You cannot delete a shared UDO in this manner. Only an Object Management Workbench (OMW) user can delete a shared UDO.