Determining the Tenancy Type

The steps to configure multifactor authentication (MFA) best practices depends on your tenancy type.

There are two types of tenancies:

  • Tenancies with IAM identity domains. In these services you will see a Default domain and possibly secondary domains. These can be new tenancies or migrated tenancies.
  • Tenancies without IAM identity domains. In these services you will see an auto-federated Identity Cloud Service stripe and optional secondary stripes. These services use Identity Cloud Service as an auto-federated identity provider (IdP).

Does Your Tenancy Have Identity Domains?

Complete the following steps find the documentation that's right for you.

  1. Sign in to the Oracle Cloud Console.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Identity & Security.
  3. Under Identity, check for Domains.
  4. Click Domains. Click the name of your identity domain, click Security and then Sign-on policies. Look for the Security Policy for OCI Console sign-on policy.