Terminating an Orchestration v1

When you terminate or stop an orchestration, all the instances and other resources that were provisioned by that orchestration are deleted.

Note:

When you terminate an orchestration, only the resources that are created by the orchestration are deleted. For example, if you use an orchestration to create storage volumes and attach them to your instances, then such storage volumes are deleted when you terminate the orchestration, and you lose the data stored on those storage volumes. However, if an orchestration specifies only attachments to storage volumes that are created outside the orchestration, then when you terminate the orchestration, the storage volumes aren’t deleted.

If you use the Create Instance wizard to create an instance and the required storage volumes, then separate orchestrations are automatically created for the instance and the storage volumes. When you delete an instance, if you want to retain the data on the attached storage volumes, ensure that you terminate only the instance orchestration, not the master orchestration. If you terminate the master orchestration, both the instance and the storage volumes that were created while creating the instance will be deleted. When you start the master orchestration again later on to re-create the instance, the storage volumes will be re-created; however, the data you had written to those storage volumes will be lost.

To complete this task, you must have the Compute_Operations role. If this role isn’t assigned to you or you’re not sure, then ask your system administrator to ensure that the role is assigned to you in Oracle Cloud My Services. See Modifying User Roles in Managing and Monitoring Oracle Cloud.

  1. Sign in to the Compute Classic console. If your domain spans multiple sites, select the appropriate site. To change the site, click the Site menu near the top of the page.
  2. Click the Orchestrations tab.
  3. Identify the orchestration that you want to terminate. From the menu icon menu, select Terminate.
    The status of the orchestration changes to Stopping.

Note:

If any of the objects defined in an orchestration are used or referenced by another object, the orchestration won’t be able to delete the referenced objects, and it can get stuck in the Stopping state. See My orchestration is stuck in the stopping state.

After all objects have been deleted, the status of the orchestration changes to Stopped. You can view the orchestration, download it, or start it again.

To terminate an orchestration using the CLI, use the opc compute orchestration update ––action STOP command. For help with that command, run the command with the -h option. For the instructions to install the CLI client, see Preparing to Use the Compute Classic CLI in CLI Reference for Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Compute Classic.

To terminate an orchestration using the API, use the PUT /orchestration/name method with the query argument action=STOP. For more information, see REST API for Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Compute Classic.

When you no longer need an orchestration, you can delete it. See Deleting an Orchestration v1.