When you terminate or stop an orchestration, all the instances and other resources that were provisioned by that orchestration are deleted.
When you terminate an orchestration, all the resources that are created by the orchestration are deleted. For example, if you use an orchestration to create storage volumes and attach them to your instances, then such storage volumes are deleted when you terminate the orchestration, and you lose the data stored on those storage volumes.
To complete this task, you must have the
Compute_Operations role. If this role isn’t assigned to you or you’re not sure, then ask your system administrator to ensure that the role is assigned to you in Oracle Cloud My Services. See Modifying User Roles in Managing and Monitoring Oracle Cloud.
- Sign in to the Compute Classic console. If your domain spans multiple sites, select the appropriate site. To change the site, click the Site menu near the top of the page.
- Click the Orchestrations tab.
- Identify the orchestration that you want to terminate. From the menu, select Terminate.The status of the orchestration changes to Stopping.
After all objects have been deleted, the status of the orchestration changes to Stopped. You can start the orchestration again, or if you don’t require the orchestration any more, you can delete it.
To terminate an orchestration using the CLI, use the
opc compute orchestration-v2 delete command. For help with that command, run the command with the
-h option. For the instructions to install the CLI client, see Preparing to Use the Compute Classic CLI in CLI Reference for Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Compute Classic.
To delete all the objects in orchestrations v2 using the API, use the
PUT /platform/v1/orchestration/orchestrationName method with the query argument
desired_state=inactive. For more information, see REST API for Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Compute Classic.
If you no longer need an orchestration, you can delete it. See Deleting an Orchestration v2.