Taking Snapshots and Restoring Information

You can take a snapshot of your system at any time.

Taking a Snapshot

Administrators can take a snapshot of the system at any time.

  1. Click Console.
  2. Click Service Administration Manage Snapshots.
  3. Click New Snapshot.
  4. Enter a short description for the snapshot to help you remember later why you took it.

    For example, why you created the snapshot and what it contains.

  5. Click OK.

The latest content is saved to a snapshot.

Restoring from a Snapshot

If something goes wrong, you can easily restore your content to a previous working state from a snapshot.

Caution:

  • When you restore from a snapshot, you overwrite all existing content for your service. If users created any content after that snapshot was taken, that content is lost.

  • As you start to restore the snapshot, any user currently signed in has his session terminated.

  • You can restore snapshots taken from the same version as or an earlier version than your service is currently running.

  • When you restore a snapshot taken from a different service, you must upload the data associated with your data sets on the new service.

  • Allocate additional time when restoring a large snapshot.

  • Allow a few minutes for restored content to refresh through your system. For a large snapshot, allow approximately 15 to 20 minutes.

  1. Click Console.
  2. Click Service Administration Manage Snapshots.
  3. Select the snapshot that you want to use to restore your system.
  4. Click Manage Snapshot.
  5. Click Restore to return your system to the state when this snapshot was taken.
  6. In the Restore Snapshot dialog, select only those elements you want to restore.

    For example, you may not want to include application roles if you’re restoring a snapshot taken from a pre-production service, to a production service. Pre-production roles often have different members to the production service. If so, deselect Application Roles before clicking Restore.

    Select all three options if you’re migrating content from a snapshot taken from a different service.

  7. For auditing purposes, enter the reason why you’re restoring.
  8. Click Restore.

    A warning message is displayed because restoring a snapshot can be very disruptive.

  9. Click Yes to restore the selected snapshot, or click No to abandon the restore.
The time it takes to restore your system depends on the size of your snapshot. After the restore completes, you might need to wait a few more minutes for the restored content to refresh through your system. Sign out, then sign back in after, say, 15 or 20 minutes to see new content and inherit newly restored application roles, if any.

Editing Snapshot Descriptions

You can add or update the description for any snapshot.

  1. Click Console.
  2. Click Service Administration Manage Snapshots.
  3. Select the snapshot you want to edit.
  4. Click Manage Snapshot.
  5. Click Edit.
  6. Update the description, and click OK.

Deleting Snapshots

From time to time, delete snapshots that you don’t need.

  1. Click Console.
  2. Click Service Administration Manage Snapshots.
  3. Select the snapshot that you want to delete.
  4. Click Manage Snapshot.
  5. Click Delete to delete the snapshot.

    A message displays at the top right hand side of the page. If you change your mind, click Undo.