Taking Snapshots and Restoring Information

You can take a snapshot of your system at any time.

Taking a Snapshot

Administrators can take a snapshot of the system at any time.

  1. Click Console.
  2. Click Snapshots and Models .
  3. Click New Snapshot.
  4. Enter a short description for the snapshot to help you remember later why you took it.

    For example, why you created the snapshot and what it contains.

  5. Click OK.

The latest content is saved to a snapshot.

Restoring from a Snapshot

If something goes wrong, you can easily restore your content to a previous working state from a snapshot.

Caution:

  • Restoring from a snapshot overwrites all existing content.

  • Everyone who is currently signed-in has their session terminated.

  • Any content created since the last snapshot will be lost.

  • Large snapshot files take some time to upload and restore.

  • Restored content takes a few minutes to refresh through your system. For large snapshots, allow up to 15–20 minutes.

  1. Click Console.
  2. Click Snapshots and Models .
  3. Select the snapshot that you want to use to restore your system.
  4. Click Manage Snapshot.
  5. Click Restore to return your system to the state when this snapshot was taken.
  6. In the Restore Snapshot dialog, select only those elements you want to restore.

    For example, you may not want to include application roles if you’re restoring a snapshot taken from a pre-production service, to a production service. Pre-production roles often have different members to the production service. If so, deselect Application Roles before clicking Restore.

  7. For auditing purposes, enter the reason why you’re restoring.
  8. Click Restore.

    A warning message is displayed because restoring a snapshot can be very disruptive.

  9. Click Yes to restore the selected snapshot, or click No to abandon the restore.
The time it takes to restore your system depends on the size of your snapshot. After the restore completes, you might need to wait a few more minutes for the restored content to refresh through your system. Sign out, then sign back in after, say, 15 or 20 minutes to inherit newly restored application roles, if any.

Editing Snapshot Descriptions

You can add or update the description for any snapshot.

  1. Click Console.
  2. Click Snapshots and Models .
  3. Select the snapshot you want to edit.
  4. Click Manage Snapshot.
  5. Click Edit.
  6. Update the description, and click OK.

Deleting Snapshots

From time to time, delete snapshots that you don’t need.

  1. Click Console.
  2. Click Snapshots and Models .
  3. Select the snapshot that you want to delete.
  4. Click Manage Snapshot.
  5. Click Delete to delete the snapshot.

    A message displays at the top right hand side of the page. If you change your mind, click Undo.