Obsolete Products and Services Using Deletion Groups
Product managers can obsolete products and services by defining and maintaining deletion groups that identify products and services that are at the end of their life cycle and should be purged.
Deleting items, structures, new item requests, and change orders is managed through the Deletion Groups task. You can create and maintain deletion groups using the Deletion Groups link in the Product Management work area. The Deletion Groups page is launched. You can add objects directly to a deletion group through this task.
On the Deletion Groups page, you can create deletion groups, search and access the existing deletion groups, run a constraint check, and submit the deletion groups for processing. You can also delete those deletion groups that were successfully submitted and completed.
- Items
- Change orders
- New item requests
- Item structures
Once an item is deleted, it's removed from the application, all the cross-references and item relationships such as item organizations, item supplier site organizations, structures, and components are lost.
Add Reference Organization Items to Deletion Groups
Users can search for and add a reference organization item to a deletion group only when they have the required Delete permission for the corresponding definition organization item.
For example, if item REFV1 is associated with definition organization item V1, a user with the required Delete permission for V1 can select REFV1 when adding items to a deletion group. Separate item security grants aren't required for the reference organization item.
Inherited Access for Deletion-Group Actions
Users can add a component or item from a reference organization to a deletion group only when they have the required Delete permission for the corresponding definition organization item. The application applies the inherited item access control list permissions when users search for and select items or components for deletion.