Administration Console Online Help

Previous Next Open TOC in new window
Content starts here

Specify severity level for loggers

All loggers inherit the severity level of their nearest parent node in the logger hierarchy. The LoggerSeverityProperties box provides you with a way to specify a severity level for a given logger that is different than severity inherited from its nearest parent node. You can specify multiple loggers and severity levels in this box by using key-value pairs, where the key is the logger name and the value is the severity level (Info, Critical, Warning, etc.).

To set the severity level of one or more loggers in the hierarchy:

  1. If you have not already done so, in the Change Center of the Administration Console, click Lock & Edit (see Use the Change Center).
  2. In the left pane of the Console, expand Environment and select Servers.
  3. Under Servers, click the name of the server instance whose logging you want to configure.
  4. On the Logging: General page, click Advanced.
  5. In the Logger severity properties box, type a semicolon-separated list of key value pairs to specify the loggers for which you want to override the level inherited from the parent node. How you specify the loggers depends on whether you are using the Message Catalog Logger or the Commons Logger API. See Specifying Severity Level for Loggers
  6. Click Save.
  7. To activate these changes, in the Change Center of the Administration Console, click Activate Changes.
    Not all changes take effect immediately—some require a restart (see Use the Change Center).


For each specified logger or package, only messages of the specified severity level or lower will be logged.

Back to Top