Solaris Trusted Extensions User's Guide

ProcedureHow to Perform Some Common Desktop Tasks in Trusted Extensions

Some common tasks are affected by labels and security. In particular, the following tasks are affected by Trusted Extensions:

  1. Empty the trash.

    The trash can contains files only at the label of the workspace. Delete sensitive information as soon as the information is in the trash can.

    • In Trusted CDE, open the Trash Can on the Front Panel.

      Choose File -> Select All, then File -> Shred. Then, confirm.

    • In Trusted GNOME, click mouse button 3 over the Trash Can icon on the desktop.

      Choose Empty Trash, then confirm.

  2. Find calendar events at every label.

    Calendars show only the events at the label of the workspace that opened the calendar.

    • In a multilevel session, open your calendar from a workspace that has a different label.

    • In a single-level session, log out. Then, log in at a different label to view the calendar events at that label.

  3. In Trusted CDE, restore the Front Panel by clicking the trusted stripe.

    A minimized Front Panel is restored.

  4. On both desktops, save a customized desktop at every label.

    You can customize the workspace configuration for every label at which you log in.

    1. Configure the desktop.

      Arrange windows, establish the font size, and perform other customizations.

      Note –

      Users can save desktop configurations. Roles cannot save desktop configurations.

    2. Save the current workspace.

      • In Trusted CDE, open the Style Manager. Choose your settings in the Startup icon.

        Note –

        The Style Manager requires the trusted path. Run the Style Manager from the Front Panel or from the Workspace menu, where the Style Manager has the trusted path.

        Your desktop is restored in this configuration when you next log in at this label.

      • In Trusted GNOME, click the Main menu.

        1. Click Preferences > Sessions.

        2. Click the Session Options button.

        3. Click Remember currently running applications, then close the dialog box.

        Your desktop is restored in this configuration when you next log in at this label.