Skip navigation.

Deploying WebLogic Server Applications

   Previous Next vertical dots separating previous/next from contents/index/pdf Contents View as PDF   Get Adobe Reader

Overview of WebLogic Server Deployment

Document Scope and Audience

Deployment Units

Standalone Modules

Enterprise JavaBean

Resource Adapter

Web Services

Deployable Applications

Web Application

Enterprise Application

Client Application Archives

Startup and Shutdown Classes

XML Deployment Descriptors for Deployment Units

Deployment Files

Archive Files

Exploded Archive Directories

Unpacking an Archive File

Location of Files

Deployment Targets

WebLogic Server Instances


Virtual Hosts

Staging Modes

Deployment Names

Deployment Tools

Best Practices for Deployment

Deployment Operations

Security Roles Required for Deployment

Quickstart Guide to Deployment

Step 1: Unpack the Archive File (if Necessary)

Step 2: Start the Deployment Assistant

Step 3: Upload Deployment Files (if Necessary)

Step 4: Select the Deployment Files

Step 5: Select the Target Servers

Step 6: Deploy the Files

Performing Common Deployment Tasks

Uploading Deployment Files to the Administration Server

Deploying an Application or Standalone Module to Servers on the Same Machine

Deploying an Application or Standalone Module to Servers on Multiple Machines

Changing the Target List for an Existing Deployment

Redeploying or Stopping a Deployment Unit

Undeploying a Deployment Unit

Deploying Modules of an Enterprise Application to Different WebLogic Server Instances

Deploying an Enterprise Application Using external_stage Mode

Deploying an Enterprise Application with an Alternate (External) Application Descriptor

Deploying a Module Newly Added to an EAR

Changing the Order of Deployment for a Deployment Unit

Changing a Server Staging Mode or Staging Directory

Dynamically Updating Descriptors for a Deployment Unit

Redeploying Static Files in a Web Application

Removing Files from a Web Application Deployment

Managing Deployment Tasks

Advanced Deployment Topics

Two-Phase Deployment Protocol

Phase 1: Prepare

Phase 2: Activate

Benefits of Two-Phase Deployment

WebLogic Server 6.x Deployment Protocol (Deprecated)

Enforcing Cluster Constraints with Two-Phase Deployment

Deployment Staging Modes and Staging Directories

Stage Mode

Nostage Mode

External_stage mode

Server Staging Modes vs. Application Staging Modes

Deployment Order

Deployment Order for Modules Within an Enterprise Application

Ordering Startup Class Execution and Deployment

Redeploying Applications and Modules

Limitations of Redeploying Applications and Modules

Partial Redeployment for Exploded Web Applications

Deploying Enterprise Applications With Alternate Deployment Descriptors

Common Uses for Alternate Deployment Descriptors

Limitations of Alternate Deployment Descriptors

Command-Line Options for Specifying Descriptors

Deployment Topics for Developers


Enabling and Disabling Auto-Deployment

Auto-Deploying, Redeploying, and Undeploying Archived Applications

Auto-Deploying, Redeploying, and Undeploying Applications in Exploded Archive Format

Application Lifecycle Events

Registering Events in weblogic-application.xml

Basic Functionality

Configuring Lifecycle Events: URI Parameter

Application Lifecycle Event Behavior During Re-deployment

Deployment Tools Reference

weblogic.Deployer Utility

Using weblogic.Deployer Utility

weblogic.Deployer Actions and Options

wldeploy Ant Task

Basic Steps for Using wldeploy

Sample build.xml Files for wldeploy

wldeploy Ant Task Reference

WebLogic Builder

Deployment Management API


Skip footer navigation  Back to Top Previous Next