The Java EE 5 Tutorial

Scope, Inheritance, and Precedence

Default JAXB bindings can be customized or overridden at four different levels, or scopes.

Figure 17–3 illustrates the inheritance and precedence of customization declarations. Specifically, declarations towards the top of the pyramid inherit and supersede declarations below them. For example, Component declarations inherit from and supersede Definition declarations; Definition declarations inherit and supersede Schema declarations; and Schema declarations inherit and supersede Global declarations.

Figure 17–3 Customization Scope Inheritance and Precedence

Diagram of scope inheritance. Top to bottom: Component
Scope, Definition Scope, Schema Scope, and Global Scope.