There may be circumstances in which you cannot delete an item. For example, you cannot delete a role if it is in use (that is, if it is currently assigned to a user).
The following is the general procedure for deleting something:
In the list in the left panel, select the item that you want to delete.
Select the Delete icon.
In the confirmation dialog, confirm that you want to delete the item.