5.11.4 Deleting the Snapshot of the Original File System

Caution

If you delete the snapshot of the original file system to save storage space, you will no longer be able to recover the original file system.

To delete the snapshot of the original file system and recover the space that it uses:

  1. Delete the ext2_saved subvolume.

    # btrfs subvolume delete mountpoint/ext2_saved

    For example, if you converted the root file system (/) file system, you would enter:

    # btrfs subvolume delete //ext2_saved

    For another file system, such as /usr, you would enter:

    # btrfs subvolume delete /usr/ext2_saved
  2. Rebalance the btrfs file system.

    # btrfs filesystem balance device