Configure Documents Settings

Documents settings include user quotas and link settings.

Note:

If you're using Oracle Content Management Starter Edition, the Documents section isn't supported. To take advantage of the full feature set, upgrade to the Premium Edition.

From the Documents page, you can perform the following actions:

Restrict File and Folder Deletions

You can restrict who is able to delete a file or folder, allowing only the file creator and folder managers to do so.

To restrict file and folder deletions:

  1. After you sign in to the Oracle Content Management web application as an administrator, click System in the Administration area of the navigation menu.

  2. In the System menu, click Documents.
  3. Under File and Folder Restrictions, select Enabled to limit deletion to only the file creator and folder managers.

Set User Quotas and Manage Storage Space

You can set quotas for the amount of storage space that a user is allocated. You can also save storage space by limiting the length of time that items remain in the trash before being permanently deleted and limiting the number of versions to keep before older version are deleted.

To set quotas and storage space:

  1. After you sign in to the Oracle Content Management web application as an administrator, click System in the Administration area of the navigation menu.

  2. In the System menu, click Documents.
  3. Under Quota, set these defaults:
    • Default quota per user: Specify the amount of storage space per user in gigabytes. Enter a value between 1 and 999.
    • Maximum days to keep files and folders in trash: Specify the number of days that files are kept in the trash before they are permanently deleted. If you set this option to “0”, the files will be deleted the next time the purge job runs. The purge job runs once a day.
    • Allow unlimited versions: If you want to limit the number of versions kept, select Disabled and specify the Maximum number of versions per file. When the maximum number of versions is exceeded, older versions will be deleted.
    • Permanently delete cleaned up revisions: By default, the oldest file revisions are immediately deleted when the maximum number of versions is exceeded. If you want to instead move the older versions to the trash, disable this option.
To view the amount of storage used and override the storage quota for a particular user, see Override Storage Quota for a User.

Set Default Link Behavior

Administrators can determine how public links will be handled throughout the entire service. This kind of link lets a person use the files in a folder but limits access to any other folders. If you send a public link to a file, the person can access only that one file.

To set link behavior, complete the following steps:

  1. After you sign in to the Oracle Content Management web application as an administrator, click System in the Administration area of the navigation menu.

  2. In the System menu, click Documents.
  3. Under Links, configure the following settings:
    • Allow public links to files and folders: If you want users to be allowed to create public links and share those links with others, select Enabled.
    • Default Share Link Type: If you enabled public links, specify what the default is for shared links—members only or public. You might want to leave this setting as Members Only so that users don't accidentally create public links.
    • Access Options: If you enabled public links, specify whether users can send public links to anyone (Anyone) or only to those people who have an Oracle Content Management account (All Registered Users).

      If you allow public links to be sent to anyone, you reduce security because users could share confidential content with people outside your company. Set this to Anyone only if you are certain this is acceptable practice for your company.

    • Show warning to users when they create public links: If you want to alert users when they are creating public links, select Enabled.
    • Customize warning message to display when users create public links: If you enabled the warning message, you can set your own message, cautioning users about the use of public links. Select Enabled and enter your custom message.
    • Maximum role available for public links: Select the highest role your users can assign when they create a public link. This can help you control who can add or download content from your service.
    • Default role for new public links: Select the role that will be assigned by default when your users create a public link. This role can’t allow more permissions than the role you set for the Maximum Role.
    • Enforce expiration for all public links: When a public link is created, the link is given a name and an optional expiration date and access code. If you want to ensure that all public links have an expiration date, select Enabled and set a maximum expiration time.
    • Set maximum expiration time: If you enforce expiration for public links, enter the maximum number of days those links are valid until they expire. This helps you ensure that the links that are created are ones that are in use, and no links remain valid and unused for a long period of time. If a link does expire, the owner of the link can recreate it and send it again if needed.
    • Show banner warning that public links or external users have access to an object: By default, users see a banner warning when they use an object that is available through public links or to external users. To hide this warning, select Disabled.