Clearing Data

You can clear data for selected entities from a specific Scenario, Year, and Period or range of periods for the following types of data:

  • Tax Provision

  • CbCR data

For rates data, this operation will clear all the Rates data, except the Global Rates, for the selected entities in both the Consolidation (Consol) and CbCR cube.

To clear data, you must be a user with the service administrator role. Clear data will not process clear data for a calculated member or parent members, as these values are generated either by dynamic calculation or from consolidation. You cannot clear data for a locked entity.

The members in the following dimensions are fixed and not available for selection in the Clear process:

  • View - Periodic

  • Currency - Entity Currency

  • Account - <all members>

  • Movement - <all members>

  • Multi-GAAP - <all members>

  • Custom- <all members>

  • ICP - <all members>

  • Consolidation - Entity Input

After the Clear process, the Calculation Status of the entities changes to Impacted. You must run a consolidation to update the values.

If you select the All data source option:

  • If the base entity is selected, the selected Entity is marked as No Data, and all its ancestors are marked as Impacted.
  • If the Parent Entity is selected, the selected Entity and all its ancestors are marked as Impacted.

The system does not include entities with No Data as part of the Clear process.

To clear data:

  1. On the Home page, click Applications, then Overview.
    clear data
  2. Click Actions, and then Clear Data.
  3. On the Clear Data dialog box, select the modules that you want to clear:
    • Tax Provision
    • CbCR--If CbCR is not enabled, the checkbox is not displayed.

    Select Clear Data options
  4. Under Target, click dimension selector and select the check mark beside the dimension to select the following items, and then click OK:
    • Scenario
    • Year
    • Period, or range of periods
    • One or more Entity members

    Note:

    For the Scenario and Year dimensions, only single selections are allowed.

  5. Under Data Source, select the data source you want to clear:
    • All--Includes all options listed.

      If the All option is selected:

      • If the base entity is selected, the selected Entity is marked as No Data, and all its ancestors are marked as Impacted.
      • If the Parent Entity is selected, the selected Entity and all its ancestors are marked as Impacted.
    • Managed Data--Data copied or brought into system from Data Management
    • Supplemental Data--Data posted from Supplemental Data Manager
      • If "Supplemental Data" is selected as the DataSource, and if the data cell has a value posted from an SDM form, then the SDM form is "unposted or reopened". By unposting or reopening the form, the system will clear the data and the drill link stored in Tax Reporting. The form status reverts to the first stage of the workflow and is assigned back to the preparer. In summary, by doing an unpost or reopen of the SDM detail, the data cell value is automatically cleared, but it should not delete the supporting SDM detail data unless the user decides to re-deploy the form template.

      • If Data Management is selected as the datasource, or any other which contains the Data Management link , the system will always clear the value in the data cell and also the drill link.

    • Other Data-- All data apart from Data Management and Supplemental Data Manager. All input data, for example Tax, Pre-Tax, Apportioned , TAR, BVT and so on.

    Note:

    For any source "Data Source" options selected, no "Target" member needs to be selected. The system automatically uses the same as selected in source, and it can be a single or multi selection.

  6. Click Run to submit the clear data task, and at the prompt, click Yes to continue.
    The system displays a message that the clear data task is submitted.
  7. To monitor the task status, from the Home page, select Applications, then click Jobs, and then click on the job for more details.