Display Toolbar

Use the Display toolbar to zoom in and out of the current display, expand or collapse data elements, show or hide Hint Help, and add attachments. This toolbar is displayed by default.

The following table provides information about each available icon on the toolbar.

Icon Function Displays by default? Enabled when active window is: Shortcut keys Corresponding menu command
"" Zooms in on a timescaled layout (Gantt Chart, spreadsheet, or profile). Zooming in displays a shorter range of time using smaller time intervals, for example, zooming from a quarterly to monthly to weekly display. Yes Activities, Projects, Resource Assignments, Tracking, WBS None View > Zoom > Zoom In
"" Zooms out of a timescaled layout (Gantt Chart, spreadsheet, or profile). Zooming out displays a longer range of time using larger time intervals, for example, zooming from a weekly to monthly to quarterly display. Yes Activities, Projects, Resource Assignments, Tracking, WBS None View > Zoom > Zoom Out
""

Re-sizes chart views to fit the entire chart into the visible area.

This icon is enabled when you display a chart view in the active window.

Yes Activities, Projects, Resources, WBS None View > Zoom > Zoom to Best Fit
"" Resets all toolbars, default icons, and toolbar locations back to factory defaults. No All None View > Reset All Toolbars
"" Locks toolbars in their current positions. No All None View > Lock All Toolbars
"" Enables you to create a new tab group at the bottom of the screen. Yes All None View > Tab Groups > New Horizontal Tab Group
"" Enables you to remove all tab groupings and display all open tabs in one tab group. Yes All None View > Tab Groups > New Vertical Tab Group
"" Enables you to create a new tab group at the side of the screen. Yes All None View > Tab Groups > Merge all Tab Groups
"" Enables or disables Hint Help. Yes All None View > Hint Help
"" Expands all collapsed elements in a grouped or hierarchical table view. No All Ctrl+Add View > Expand All
"" Collapses all expanded elements in a grouped or hierarchical table view. No All Ctrl+Subtract View > Collapse All
"" Opens the Collapse To dialog box. Use the Collapse To dialog box to select the grouping band you want to collapse or expand to in the current layout. The selection available in the list is based on the grouping bands displayed in the current layout. No Activities, Projects, Resource Assignments, Tracking, WBS None View > Collapse To
""

Enables you to add curtain and text attachments, and to show or hide all curtain attachments. Curtain attachments highlight a specific time period in a Gantt Chart, while text attachments display custom text you enter in a Gantt Chart.

To add a curtain attachment to a Gantt Chart, click the icon, point to Curtain, then choose Add to open the Curtain Attachment dialog box.

To show or hide all curtain attachments, click the icon, point to Curtain, then choose the appropriate option.

To add a text attachment to a Gantt Chart, click the icon, then choose Text to open the Text Attachment dialog box. Use the Text Attachment dialog box to create formatted text and insert it in a Gantt Chart.

This icon is enabled when you display a Gantt Chart in the Activities window.

No Activities None View > Attachments
""

Opens the local P6 Professional Help. The topic that displays when you open the Help reflects the currently active window.

If the Always launch Online Help for the F1 shortcut key and context-sensitive help setting is not selected in the P6 Professional Online Help URL section of the Admin Preferences dialog box, the local help will launch when clicking the Help icon or button in the open dialog box.

This icon is enabled when no dialog box is open. To access the Help topic for a dialog box, click the Help icon or button in the open dialog box.

Yes All Ctrl+F1 Help > Local Help
""

Opens the Online P6 Professional Help. The topic that displays when you open the Online Help reflects the currently active window.

If the Always launch Online Help for the F1 shortcut key and context-sensitive help setting is selected in the P6 Professional Online Help URL section of the Admin Preferences dialog box, click the Help icon or button in the open dialog box to access the online help topic for a dialog box.

Yes All Ctrl+Alt+F1 Help > Online Help

Tip:

To show icons on the toolbar that do not display by default, you must customize the toolbar.