Edit Toolbar

Use the Edit toolbar to add, delete, cut, copy, and paste data objects, dissolve and link activities, undo an action, and much more. This toolbar is displayed by default.

The following table provides information about each available icon on the toolbar.

Icon Function Displays by default? Enabled when active window is: Shortcut keys Corresponding menu command
"" Adds a data item in the active window. For example, in the Activities window, clicking this icon adds an activity. Yes All except Tracking Ins or Insert Edit > Add
"" Deletes the selected data object. Yes All except Tracking Del or Delete Edit > Delete
"" Cuts the selected data object. Yes All except Tracking and Resource Assignments

Ctrl+X

 

Edit > Cut
""

Copies the selected data object.

Tip

This icon is enabled in the Resource Assignments window so that you can copy resource assignments and paste them into another application, such as Microsoft Excel. You cannot paste a resource assignment row in the Resource Assignments window.

Yes All except Tracking Ctrl+C Edit > Copy
""

Pastes a copied or cut data object.

This icon is enabled after you copy or cut a data object.

Yes All except Tracking and Resource Assignments Ctrl+V Edit > Paste
""

Deletes the selected activity and joins its predecessor and successor activities with a finish to start relationship.

This icon is enabled when you select an activity that has a predecessor and successor.

No Activities None Edit > Dissolve
""

Creates a finish-to-start relationship between the activities you select in the Activities window. This action creates relationships based on the order in which the selected activities are listed.

This icon is enabled when you select more than one activity in the Activity Table or Activity Network.

No Activities None Edit > Link Activities
"" Removes relationships between the selected activities. No Activities None Edit > Unlink Activities
"" Changes data back to its previous state before your last action. No Activities, Resources, Resource Assignments Ctrl+Z Edit > Undo
"" When you select multiple rows in a table, clicking this icon copies text from one row to successive rows in a column. No All except Reports and Tracking Ctrl+E Edit > Fill Down
Select All Selects all data items in the active window. For example, in the Activities window, clicking this icon selects all activities. No All except Tracking Ctrl+A Edit > Select All
"" Starts the spelling checker. Use the spelling checker to check spelling for all displayed data objects in the active window. No All except Tracking F7 Edit > Spell Check
""

Opens the selected work product or document's private file and its associated application.

This icon is enabled when the selected document has a defined private file location.

No WPs & Docs None View > Launch > Private Document
""

Opens the selected work product or document's public file and its associated application.

This icon is enabled when the selected document has a defined public file location.

No WPs & Docs None View > Launch > Public Document
"" Opens the Issue History dialog box. Use the Issue History dialog box to view and add comments about the selected issue's history. No Project Issues None Right-click on an issue, then choose Issue History.
"" Opens the Notify Issue dialog box. Use the Notify Issue dialog box to send email about the selected issue. No Project Issues None Right-click on an issue, then choose Notify.
"" Monitors the selected threshold to identify issues. No Project Thresholds None None

Tip:

To show icons on the toolbar that do not display by default, you must customize the toolbar.