Tools Toolbar

Use the Tools toolbar to schedule and summarize projects, level resources, update progress, apply actuals, store period performance, and much more. This toolbar is displayed by default.

The following table provides information about each available icon on the toolbar.

Icon Function Displays by default? Enabled when active window is: Shortcut keys Corresponding menu command
""

Opens the Primavera P6 Visualizer.

See Launching P6 Visualizer from P6 Professional for more information.

Yes Activities None Tools > Visualizer
"" Opens the Schedule dialog box. In this dialog box, you can schedule the open projects and set scheduling options. Yes All F9 Tools > Schedule
"" Opens the Check Schedule dialog box. In this dialog box, you can configure the parameters for the check schedule report. Yes Activities None Tools > Check Schedule
"" Opens the Level Resources dialog box. In this dialog box, you can level resources and set resource leveling options. Yes All Shift+F9 Tools > Level Resources
"" Enables or disables the Progress Spotlight feature. When Progress Spotlight is enabled, the module highlights the activities that fall between the last data date and the new data date in the Gantt Chart. Yes Activities None View > Progress Spotlight
"" Shows or hides the progress line in a Gantt Chart. The progress line shows the progress of activities and how the project is performing relative to the baseline project. Yes Activities None Tools > Progress Line
"" Opens the Update Progress dialog box. In this dialog box, you can estimate progress for spotlighted or selected activities. Yes Activities None Tools > Update Progress
"" Opens the Global Change dialog box. In this dialog box, you can make changes to all activities, resource assignments, or project expenses, or a selected group of these items, at one time. No All None Tools > Global Change
"" Opens the Apply Actuals dialog box. In this dialog box, you can update the schedule by applying actuals up to the data date you select for each open project. No All None Tools > Apply Actuals
"" Enables or disables automatic reorganization. By default, automatic reorganization is enabled. When you turn on Disable Auto-Reorganization, the module does not automatically reorder the currently active window according to your recent changes. No All Shift+F2 Tools > Disable Auto-Reorganization
""

When connected to a P6 Professional database: Enables you to summarize open projects, or summary-only projects, or all projects.

When connected to a P6 EPPM database: Enables you to summarize open projects, or all projects.

To choose which projects you want to summarize, click "" next to Summarize, then select an option.

No All None Tools > Summarize
"" Enables you to summarize all projects. No All None Tools > Summarize > All Projects
"" Enables you to summarize open projects. No All None Tools > Summarize > Open Projects
""

This icon appears only when P6 Professional is connected to a P6 Professional database.

Opens the Job Services dialog box. In this dialog box, you can create jobs and schedule them to run automatically on any number of projects or EPS nodes at a specified time.

No All  None Tools > Job Services
"" Opens the Store Period Performance dialog box. In this dialog box, you can store past period actuals for any open project in defined financial periods. No All None Tools > Store Period Performance
"" Opens the Monitor Thresholds dialog box. In this dialog box, you can monitor all of the open project's thresholds at once. No All None Tools > Monitor Thresholds
"" Opens the Recalculate Assignment Costs dialog box. In this dialog box, you can recalculate resource and role assignment costs for all activities in the open projects. No All None Tools > Recalculate Assignment Costs
"" Opens the Issue Navigator dialog box. In this dialog box, you can track the open project's issues, including associated activities, resources, and work breakdown structure (WBS) elements. No All None Tools > Issue Navigator
""

This icon appears only when P6 Professional is connected to a P6 Professional database.

Opens the Job Status dialog box. In this dialog box, you can view the status of all jobs submitted in P6 EPPM, such as apply actuals or summarize jobs that were run from P6 Professional and sent to run as an ASAP service.

No All None Tools > Job Status

Tip:

To show icons on the toolbar that do not display by default, you must customize the toolbar.