Module java.logging

Class Level

All Implemented Interfaces:

public class Level extends Object implements Serializable
The Level class defines a set of standard logging levels that can be used to control logging output. The logging Level objects are ordered and are specified by ordered integers. Enabling logging at a given level also enables logging at all higher levels.

Clients should normally use the predefined Level constants such as Level.SEVERE.

The levels in descending order are:

  • SEVERE (highest value)
  • INFO
  • FINE
  • FINEST (lowest value)
In addition there is a level OFF that can be used to turn off logging, and a level ALL that can be used to enable logging of all messages.

It is possible for third parties to define additional logging levels by subclassing Level. In such cases subclasses should take care to chose unique integer level values and to ensure that they maintain the Object uniqueness property across serialization by defining a suitable readResolve method.

See Also: