Siebel Anywhere Administration Guide > Activating, Applying, and Distributing Upgrade Kits >

Deactivating an Upgrade Kit

There are times when you may need to deactivate an active kit—perhaps there was a last minute decision to delete a kit. (You must first deactivate a kit before deleting it.)

Observe the following guidelines when deciding whether to deactivate a kit:

  • If there was a problem with the kit, then the kit can be deactivated and a replacement kit should be created to upgrade the users who had problems with the initial kit.
  • If later kits depend on the kit you are considering for deactivation, perform the following actions to make sure that users will be able to download and install the later kits:
    • Make sure that every user who needs the upgrade kit that will be deactivated has already installed the kit. This includes any infrequent users who may log on too infrequently to have been prompted to install the kit.

      CAUTION:  Deactivating a previously distributed kit could cause mobile users to have an unsuccessful synchronization, and place those users unnecessarily into a read-only state.

    • Make sure that you can clone new client installations from existing up-to-date clients. This method is the preferred method for providing new users with material that was formerly delivered in one or more upgrade kits. New users cannot download later kits if a prerequisite kit has been deactivated.

To deactivate an upgrade kit

  1. From the application-level menu, select Navigate > Site Map > Administration - Siebel Anywhere.
  2. From the link bar, click Upgrade Kits.

    The Upgrade Kits view appears.

  3. Select the kit you want to deactivate.

    The Status field should show that it is Active.

  4. Click the menu button and select Deactivate.

    A warning message will ask you to confirm. If appropriate, click OK.

    The Status field should change to Inactive.

Repeat Step 3 and Step 4 for each kit that you want to deactivate.

Siebel Anywhere Administration Guide