Siebel Communications Server Administration Guide > Configuring Session Communications > Specifying Telesets >

Specifying Extensions for Telesets

This section describes how to specify extensions for telesets. After you specify telesets, agents, and extensions, the agent who uses the teleset must specify a default standard extension from the teleset that he or she is associated with. The agent does not need to specify a default standard extension if the teleset is a hoteling teleset. For details, see Setting Communications User Preferences.

The way you specify extension data varies according to the switch you are using. Table 5 documents how extension type must be specified (S or A) for each of the switches supported in the communications configurations provided by Siebel Systems. For more information about supported switches, see System Requirements and Supported Platforms on Siebel SupportWeb.

Table 5. Extension Type by Switch
Switch Name
Extension Type

Avaya (Lucent) Definity G3

Specify one extension per teleset.

S - Standard DN

Nortel Meridian

Specify two extensions per teleset: one of each type.

S - Standard DN
(also called Primary DN)

(also called Position DN)

Siemens Hicom 300E (Generic CSTA Phase II)

Specify one extension per teleset.

S - Standard DN

To specify extensions for a teleset

  1. Navigate to Administration - Communications > All Telesets.
  2. In the All Telesets view, select the record for the teleset to which you add extensions.
  3. Click the Extensions view tab.
  4. In the Extensions list, add a new record to create a new extension record.
  5. In the Extension field, enter the extension.
  6. In the Extension Type field, specify the type, as required for the switch:
    • "S" stands for standard DN: for all supported switch types, specify one extension of this type for each teleset.
    • "A" stands for the ACD DN: this extension type is only used for Nortel Meridian switches.
Siebel Communications Server Administration Guide