Siebel Field Service Guide > Engines Logging Levels > Business Service Engines for Siebel Field Service >

Logging Levels

Each engine has an associated logging level. A logging level is a level of detail for automatic event logging when a Siebel application component is running. The logging level is expressed as a number, with higher numbers representing greater levels of detail. Table 146 shows the logging levels and their definitions.

Table 146. Engine Logging Levels



Logs anything that goes wrong.



Logs anything exceptional even if it does not stop the operation.



Traces the functioning of the engine. Generates a chronology of events even if they are not errors or warnings.



Generates a very detailed log. Mainly for use by Siebel developers.

The default logging level for each of the engines is 1. If you need more detail in testing or troubleshooting, you can specify a higher logging level for the engine. You can modify the logging level by using one of the following methods:

  • For individual event types. Navigate to the Administration - Server Configuration screen > Components view > Events subview. For the component selected in the Components view, the Events subview shows each type of event that can be logged and its associated logging level.
  • For all event types. Invoke the SRVRMGR.EXE command line utility. The command to pass is as follows:

    change evtloglvl <parameter> = <log level> for comp <parameter>

    For example:

    change evtloglvl FSPrevMnt = 3 for comp FSPrevMnt

    This command changes the logging level for all event types associated with the engine.

    NOTE:  This command is case insensitive, except for the parameter.

For more information about configuring business services, see the chapter on business services in Integration Platform Technologies: Siebel Enterprise Application Integration.

Siebel Field Service Guide Copyright © 2007, Oracle. All rights reserved.