Manage Themes

You can copy, rename, and delete a theme folder like you would any other folder, but a theme does have special considerations because they can be shared by more than one site.

You can see all themes by clicking Developer and then clicking View All Themes. You use options on the menu bar or the right-click menu on the Themes page to perform these tasks.

Task Description

Create a new theme

To create a new theme, copy an existing theme. For information about other ways of creating themes, see Develop Themes.

Copy a theme

You can create a new theme by copying an existing theme and making changes to the copy.

Note:

When you copy a theme, sharing information associated with the theme isn’t copied.

Select the theme you want to copy and choose Copy from the menu bar or the right-click menu. Enter a name that isn’t used by another theme. You can use letters, numbers, underscores (_), and hyphens (-). If you enter a space, it's automatically replaced with a hyphen. Click Copy.

Don’t use the following names for templates, themes, components, sites, or site pages: authsite, content, pages, scstemplate_*, _comps, _components, _compsdelivery, _idcservice , _sitescloud, _sitesclouddelivery, _themes, _themesdelivery. Although you can use the following names for site pages, don’t use them for templates, themes, components, or sites: documents, sites.

Share a theme

If your administrator enabled sharing and you're the owner or a manager of the theme, you can share your theme with other users. When you share a theme, you assign a role defining what the user can do with the theme.

Note:

When someone shares a template with a user, no matter what role they're given for the template, the user is automatically given the Downloader role for any associated theme to ensure that the theme is available to the user if they create a site from the template.
Right-click the theme you want to share, choose Share, and click Add Members. Enter one or more user names or email addresses, and assign one of these roles:
  • Viewer: Viewers can view the folders and files of the theme, but can’t change things.

  • Downloader: Downloaders can also download files and save them to their own computer.

  • Contributor: Contributors can also edit the theme, upload new files, delete files, and delete the theme itself.

  • Manager: Managers can also add users and assign their roles. The creator of a theme (the owner) is automatically assigned the manager role.

Edit a theme

If you’re a web developer, you can download and modify individual theme files or you can use the desktop app and synchronize any changes you make on your local system.

You can also export a template package, which includes the associated theme and any custom components, and work with it offline in your preferred development environment. See Develop Themes.

If you make changes to a theme, you must publish the theme for those changes to be reflected by the sites using the theme.

Publish a theme

If a site uses a new, unpublished theme, the theme is automatically published with the site when you place the site online for the first time. If you make changes to a theme and want to update online sites to show the changes, you must explicitly publish the theme. You can publish a theme if you’re the owner or if you’re assigned the Manager role.

Select the theme in the list and click Publish (or Republish for previously published themes) in the menu bar. If this is the first time the theme is published, a published icon Published icon is added next to the theme in the list. See Publish Themes.

Delete or restore a theme

If you have the appropriate permissions, you can delete a theme folder and its contents. When you delete a theme, the theme folder and all its associated folders and files are moved to the trash.

You can delete or restore a theme if you created the theme (you’re the theme owner) or if someone shared a theme with you and gave you the Contributor or Manager role.

Note:

You can’t delete a theme if it’s used by any site.
To delete a theme, right-click the theme you want to delete and choose Delete. You’re prompted to move the theme to the trash. A deleted theme stays in the trash until:
  • You restore the theme.

  • You permanently delete the theme.

  • Your trash quota is reached.

  • The trash is automatically emptied based on the interval set by your service administrator. The default value is 90 days.

To restore a theme, click Trash in the Theme page menu bar, then right-click the theme from the list and choose Restore.