Delete a custom field
While it’s possible to delete a custom field if you have the required permissions, in most cases you shouldn’t do this. When you delete a custom field, all data related to the field is deleted. If a field has data associated with it, consider removing the field from the page instead. However, you may want to delete a custom field if it has no data associated with it and is no longer needed. You can initiate or perform the delete action of a custom field from an existing transaction entry or other record entry, or you can delete it from the Customization section Fields page. For more information about the Customization section, see Get started with the Customization section.
Before you begin
-
You need the Administrator access profile or the Customization: create fields and segments permission set.
-
Confirm that the field and all of its stored values can be permanently deleted. Deleting a custom field cannot be undone and can affect your audit records. To retain the data, remove the field from record types instead.
Delete a custom field
-
Access field customization from a transaction entry or other record entry.
-
Find the field you want to delete.
-
Open More actions, select Delete, and then select Delete again to confirm.