Layout Toolbar

Use the Layout toolbar to customize the layout of the active window and to access user preferences. This toolbar is displayed by default.

The following table provides information about each available icon on the toolbar.

Icon Function Displays by default? Enabled when active window is: Corresponding menu command
"" Opens the New Layout dialog box. Use the New Layout dialog box to create a custom tracking layout. No Tracking View > Layout > New
"" Opens the Open Layout dialog box. Use the Open Layout dialog box to select and display a different layout, and to import and export layouts. No Activities, Projects, Resource Assignments, WBS, Tracking View > Layout > Open
"" Saves the currently displayed layout. No Activities, Projects, Resource Assignments, Work Breakdown Structure, Tracking View > Layout > Save
"" Saves the currently displayed layout as a new layout. No Activities, Projects, Resource Assignments, Work Breakdown Structure, Tracking View > Layout > Save As
""

Opens the Bars dialog box. Use the Bars dialog box to specify the style and labels for the bars in a Gantt Chart.

This icon is enabled when you display a Gantt Chart in the active window.

Yes Activities, Projects, Tracking, Work Breakdown Structure View > Bars
""

Enables you to select a predefined column layout or to customize the columns that display in the active window. The available options vary for each window. To customize columns, click the icon, then choose Customize.

This icon is enabled when you display a table view in the active window.

Yes All except Reports View > Columns
"" Opens the Timescale dialog box. Use the Timescale dialog box to specify the timescale you want to display in the current Gantt Chart, profile, or spreadsheet layout. Yes Activities, Projects, Resource Assignments, Tracking, Work Breakdown Structure View > Timescale
"" Enables you to select a predefined filter or to create a custom filter. The available options vary for each window. To create a custom filter, click the icon, then choose Customize. Yes All except Work Breakdown Structure and Project Expenses View > Filter By
"" Enables you to select a predefined grouping and sorting option, or to specify your own grouping and sorting criteria. The available options vary for each window. To customize grouping and sorting, click the icon, then choose Customize. Yes All View > Group and Sort By
""

Numbers each row in the Activities view.

This icon is enabled when you display an Activity table, Gantt Chart, or Activity Usage Spreadsheet in the active window.

Yes Activities View > Line Numbers
"" Opens the Table, Font and Row dialog box. Use the Table Font and Row dialog box to change the appearance of text, color, and the height of rows in your display. The available options vary for each window. Yes All View > Table Font and Row
"" Opens the User Preferences dialog box. Use the User Preferences dialog box to specify your settings and preferences, including how to display time, date, and currency information. You can also set options to send email, specify startup options, and change your password. Yes All Edit > User Preferences

Tip:

  • To show icons on the toolbar that do not display by default, you must customize the toolbar.
  • The icons on this toolbar do not have corresponding shortcut keys.
  • You can also click the Display or Layout options bar in the active window to access most of the functionality available from this toolbar.