This section describes how to use Social Objects in the add-in for Outlook:
Social Objects are business objects in a business application or business process that are shared with Oracle Social Network. A shared business object is called a Social Object in Oracle Social Network.
A Social Object has its own wall for messages and documents and its own membership. A Social Object's membership includes all of the people involved in projects centering around that object. For example, the membership for a customer Social Object that comes from your CRM system, could include someone from your sales team, product management, fulfillment, and other lines of business.
Your implementation of Oracle Social Network might use Social Objects from your own systems-of-record.
In the details of a selected Social Object, you can switch between the following views using the tabs that appear above the details:
Posts— View all messages and documents added to this object's wall.
Documents— View just the documents added to this object's wall.
Members— View and manage the object's membership.
Related Items— View a list of the items related to this object.
Referring Items— View the other Social Objects that refer to this Social Object (see What are referring items?).
Tip: A Social Object might include a link back to the associated record in the source system (for example, customer relationship management, enterprise resource planning, or human capital management). If available, you can open the source record by clicking View Details in the options menu (click on the Social Object banner) or at the bottom of the list of the Social Object's attributes.
Referring items are items that link to the current item. For example, the Acme collection includes the Conversation Wiley. The Wiley Conversation, in turn, lists the Acme collection on its list of referring items.
Recent Items—For a list of items you have visited recently
Favorites—For a list of items you have marked as a favorite
Search—To use search to locate the item
When you select from the pop-up results, the dialog closes and your selection is added to the list of related items. You can skip the next step.
When a user is added to or removed from an item a membership message is posted to the item (for example, This <Social Object> is now accessible to: Jane Doe). If you'd prefer not to show those messages, you can hide them. See How do I hide membership messages?