About Auto and Manual Modes

Auto Mode and Manual Mode determine which presentation settings you can change.

By default, the presentation settings match those of the workbook design in the workbook editor. It's important to remember that the changes you make in Auto Mode or Manual Mode aren't applied to the workbook or canvas in the workbook editor.

Auto Mode is enabled the first time you use the Configure Presentation option. You can switch to Manual Mode, which provides additional options.

Option Available in Auto Mode? Available in Manual Mode?
Change canvas order No Yes
Delete a canvas No Yes
Duplicate a canvas No Yes
Hide a canvas Yes Yes
Rename canvas No Yes
Move or resize a visualization on a canvas No Yes

When you work in Manual Mode, the workbook and canvases can become out of sync between the workbook editor and the consumer view. For example, you add a canvas to the workbook in the workbook editor, and when working in Manual Mode to configure the presentation settings, the added canvas is automatically set to hidden. See How Canvas Changes Sync in Auto and Manual Modes and Reset a Canvas for Consumers.

What happens when you switch modes?

Switching from Manual Mode to Auto Mode resets any of the manual changes listed above to match the workbook design in the workbook editor. Switching from Manual Mode to Auto Mode preserves all other workbook or canvas-level properties that you set for the consumer view using the presentation settings.

Switching from Auto Mode to Manual Mode allows you to make the additional changes listed above. Any of these changes that you make differ from the workbook design in the workbook editor.