You can add, remove, and reconfigure dimensions for a Universal application.
If you are reconfiguring the dimension, you can change the following items:
- Various settings for the dimension. For example, you can change import and export settings.
Note:After a dimension has been registered, you cannot change its dimension type.
- Add or modify node types. You cannot remove node types from an application. If you want to use a different node type, you can change the bound viewpoint to a different viewpoint that has that node type.
- Add, remove, or modify node type properties.
Note:If you added a property to a bound node type by using the node type inspector, you can edit that property in the application registration. See Inspecting a Node Type.
- Change the order of the export file columns for properties.
When you remove dimensions and properties, the data objects and properties are unbound. This means that data for removed dimensions and properties will not be imported or exported. However, the data objects and properties are not deleted. This preserves your data should you need it.
For more information, see:
To modify a dimension or its node types or properties, take the following steps.
- Click Applications.
- In the Actions column for the application, click , and then select Modify Application.The application registration wizard displays.
- Perform one of the following steps:
- To add or modify a dimension, perform the steps in Adding, Removing, or Modifying a User Defined Dimension.
- To modify a node type, including node type properties, click the link for the dimension, click Next, then perform the steps in Adding or Modifying a Node Type for a User Defined Dimension.
Apply your changes to the application and its data objects by clicking
Apply on the Review the Registration Before
Applying Changes page. You access this page either when you
finish modifying the dimension or by clicking the Summary
link contained by the pages of the registration wizard.
If you make changes to the registration of an application that is not in Draft status but do not apply them, they are not saved when you close the registration wizard.
If you make changes to the registration of an application in Draft status but do not apply them, they are saved and may be able to be updated and applied later. However, if you make changes to bound data objects outside of the registration wizard it may clear the saved changes because the registration must be kept in sync with the bound objects.