The Dissolve action is available for bundles created in a sandbox account that have been installed in a linked production account, to eliminate bundle definitions that are no longer needed in the production account. The Dissolve action removes the bundle definition from the production account, so the bundle is no longer listed on the Installed Bundles page for that account. When a bundle created in sandbox is dissolved, the customization objects installed in production as part of the bundle remain in the production account and do not lose any functionality. They are no longer considered part of a bundle.
The Dissolve action is available for any bundle installed into a production account from a linked sandbox account (meaning a sandbox account that belongs to the same company as the production account). So this action can be used for other bundles in addition to orphaned bundles (bundles with a definition but no objects in a production account). For example, when the development cycle of a bundle is complete, you can dissolve a bundle in a production account where it has been installed, if you want the bundle objects to be treated as native objects rather than bundled objects in the production account.
Account administrators can find the Dissolve action at Customization > SuiteBundler > Search & Install Bundles > List, as an option in the Action dropdown list.
When a user selects the Dissolve action, a preview page displays. This page lists the objects in the bundle whose definition will be dissolved and allows the user to either cancel or proceed with the action. Note that the objects are listed for information purposes; they are not dissolved, the bundle definition is dissolved.
You can only dissolve a bundle that was installed into a production account from a linked sandbox account. You will receive an error if you attempt to dissolve a bundle installed into production from a location other than your own sandbox. The Dissolve action is not available for bundles installed in sandbox accounts.