JavaScript is required to for searching.
Skip Navigation Links
Exit Print View
Oracle GlassFish Server 3.1 Administration Guide
search filter icon
search icon

Document Information


1.  Overview of GlassFish Server Administration

Default Settings and Locations

Configuration Tasks

Administration Tools

Instructions for Administering GlassFish Server

Part I Runtime Administration

2.  General Administration

3.  Administering Domains

4.  Administering the Virtual Machine for the Java Platform

5.  Administering Thread Pools

6.  Administering Web Applications

7.  Administering the Logging Service

8.  Administering the Monitoring Service

9.  Writing and Running JavaScript Clients to Monitor GlassFish Server

10.  Administering Life Cycle Modules

About Life Cycle Modules

Configuring Life Cycle Modules

To Create a Life Cycle Module

To List Life Cycle Modules

To Update a Life Cycle Module

To Delete a Life Cycle Module

11.  Extending and Updating GlassFish Server

Part II Resources and Services Administration

12.  Administering Database Connectivity

13.  Administering EIS Connectivity

14.  Administering Internet Connectivity

15.  Administering the Object Request Broker (ORB)

16.  Administering the JavaMail Service

17.  Administering the Java Message Service (JMS)

18.  Administering the Java Naming and Directory Interface (JNDI) Service

19.  Administering Transactions

Part III Appendixes

A.  Subcommands for the asadmin Utility


About Life Cycle Modules

Life cycle modules, also known as initialization services, provide a means of running short or long duration Java-based tasks within the GlassFish Server environment. These modules are automatically initiated at server startup and are notified at various phases of the server life cycle. Configured properties for a life cycle module are passed as properties during server initialization.

All life cycle module classes and interfaces are in the as-install/glassfish/modules/glassfish-api.jar file.

A life cycle module listens for and performs its tasks in response to the following GlassFish Server sequence of events:

  1. Initialization. The server reads the configuration, initializes built-in subsystems (such as security and logging services), and creates the containers.

  2. Startup. The server loads and initializes deployed applications.

  3. Ready. The server begins servicing requests.

  4. Shutdown. The server shuts down the applications and stops.

  5. Termination. The server closes the containers, the built-in subsystems, and the server runtime environment.

These events are defined in the LifecycleEvent class. For information on creating life cycle modules, see Chapter 12, Developing Lifecycle Listeners, in Oracle GlassFish Server 3.1 Application Development Guide.

Note - If the is-failure-fatal setting is set to true (the default is false), life cycle module failure prevents server initialization or startup, but not shutdown or termination.