Inactivating Roles

You can inactivate custom or standard roles that you do not want to use in your account.

When you inactivate a role, you can no longer select it in the Role field on records, and those assigned to the role can no longer access your account with that role.

Warning:

If you inactivate the only role an employee is assigned, you can lock that person out of your account. Before inactivating a role, go to Setup > Users/Roles > Manage Users to view who may be assigned to that role.

To inactivate a custom or standard role:

  1. Go to Setup > Users/Roles > Manage Roles.

  2. Check the Show Inactives box at the bottom of the list.

  3. In the Inactive column, check the box next to any role you want to inactivate.

    To prevent errors in the website, you cannot inactivate the standard Customer Center role after you enable the Web Site feature.

    If this role was inactivated before the Web Site feature was enabled, you must temporarily disable the Web Site feature, activate the standard Customer Center role again, and enable the Web Site feature again.

    You will not lose website data in this process.

  4. Click Submit.

You can delete a custom role if it is not currently assigned to any users AND if has never been used to log in to NetSuite. If a role has previously been used to log in, or is currently assigned to any users, you need to inactivate the role rather than delete it.

Related Topics

NetSuite Roles Overview
The NetSuite Account Administrator
Separate Administration Permissions
Full Access Role
Permissions Requiring Two-Factor Authentication (2FA)
Customizing or Creating NetSuite Roles
Changing Custom Roles
Setting Default Forms for Roles
Restricting Accounts for Roles
Customizing the Customer Center Role
Retail Clerk Roles
Showing Role Permission Differences
Use Searches to Audit Roles and Permissions
Use Searches to Audit Roles
Use Searches to Audit Permissions By Employee
Setting Role-Based Preferences
Translating Custom Role Names
Mass Updating a Permission on Custom Roles
Mass Updating the Role Assigned to Customers
Standard Roles Permissions Table
Delete Role Record > This record cannot be deleted because it has dependent records

General Notices