Go to main content
Oracle® VM Server for SPARC 3.4 Administration Guide

Exit Print View

Updated: August 2016

Hardware Error-Handling Overview

    The Oracle VM Server for SPARC software adds the following RAS capabilities for the SPARC enterprise-class platforms starting with the SPARC T5, SPARC M5, and SPARC S7 series servers:

  • Fault Management Architecture (FMA) blacklisting. When FMA detects faulty CPU or memory resources, Oracle VM Server for SPARC places them on a blacklist. A faulty resource that is on the blacklist cannot be reassigned to any domains until FMA marks it as being repaired.

  • Recovery mode. Automatically recover domain configurations that cannot be booted because of faulty or missing resources.

The Fujitsu M10 platform also supports recovery mode. While the blacklisting of faulty resources is not supported, the Fujitsu M10 platform auto-replacement feature provides similar functionality.