Go to main content

Oracle® Server X6-2 Service Manual

Exit Print View

Updated: January 2021

Ethernet Port Boot Order and Device Naming

This section contains information about the boot order and device naming for the four 10-Gigabit Ethernet ports on the rear panel of the server (see Rear Panel Connector Locations). From right to left, the ports are numbered NET 0 to NET 3.

Ethernet Port Boot Order

The order in which the BIOS detects the Ethernet ports during server boot is listed below.

Note -  You can change the boot priority using the Boot Device Priority screen available in the Boot menu of the BIOS Setup Utility.
  1. NET 0

  2. NET 1

  3. NET 2

  4. NET 3

Ethernet Port Device Naming

Note -  Naming used by the interfaces might vary from that listed below depending on which devices are installed in the system.

The device naming for the Ethernet interfaces is reported differently by different interfaces and operating systems. The following table shows BIOS (physical) and operating system (logical) naming conventions used for each interface. These naming conventions might vary depending on conventions of your operating system and which devices are installed in the server.

Windows (example default names, see note below)
Net 0
ixgbe 0
Net 1
ixgbe 1
Ethernet 2
Net 2
ixgbe 2
Ethernet 3
Net 3
ixgbe 3
Ethernet 4

Note -  For Windows, port names like Ethernet, Ethernet 2, Ethernet 3, and Ethernet 4 are used by default. However, actual port naming is based on the order of enumeration, typically during operating system installation. Additionally, Windows allows you to rename the ports to meet application-specific needs.